4 Reasons Why Pea Powder Is The Best Natural Protein Source For You!

Veganism has become one of the most rapidly growing dietary trends in recent times, with its popularity increasing fourfold over the past five years.

For individuals who are looking to reduce their intake of animal products or have lactose intolerance, most protein powders that contain whey (a cheese by-product) are not suitable for their dietary needs. 

There is no need to worry because there is a growing selection of vegan protein powders available. Among them is pea protein.

Pea protein powder

Pea protein powder is a type of protein supplement made from yellow split peas. It is a type of protein powder that is made by extracting protein from peas and blending it into a specialized powder.

The small green spheres that were once a mandatory part of your childhood dinner are now becoming a popular component of a vegan diet.

Peas are a legume that is naturally rich in protein and can thrive without any involvement with animal products or by-products.

It should not be assumed that a product labeled as containing pea protein powder is vegan.

It is important to check the label of the protein product you are buying to make sure that it does not contain any non-vegan or allergy-inducing ingredients that may have been added during processing.

The process of making pea protein involves several steps.

Green and yellow split peas are dried and ground into a fine powdery flour, with the removal of residual water content and naturally occurring starch.

All the organic protein, vitamins, and minerals are left behind by this process.

Pea protein retains its premium nutritional content and essential fatty acids despite undergoing minimal processing. Let us examine the primary advantages of this highly potent protein derived from plants.

4 Amazing benefits of pea protein powder

The protein found in peas is excellent for promoting muscle growth.

You’ll discover that the majority of protein products and other supplements designed to tone and build muscle contain whey protein. Whey protein is commonly touted as being the best form of protein for muscle growth, therefore you’ll find that most of these products contain whey protein.

On the other hand, the amount of protein that is contained in pea protein is comparable to that of whey protein.

This varies depending on the specific brand of the powder, but often, the end result has the same amount of protein per gram as that found in whey, or in some cases even a few extra grams.

That’s pretty cool, huh?

Pea protein and whey protein are both excellent sources of protein; however, there are a few key variations between the two that you should be aware of. In fact, all of these differences are on the plus side.

It is full of the Necessary Amino Acids.

Complete proteins are those that include all of the essential amino acids, while incomplete proteins are those that are missing some of the essential amino acids. The principal component of most protein powders is complete proteins.

The protein extracted from peas is considered to be a “complete” protein since it possesses all nine of the body’s required amino acids. 

Your body is able to carry out a wide variety of important functions thanks to amino acids, such as the development and growth of muscles, the delivery of nutrients, and the protection against illness.

If you don’t get enough of them, you can get gastrointestinal issues, depression, a weakened immune system, and even infertility. Indeed, there is a good reason why they are referred to as important!

If you can get all nine essential amino acids from a single product, you won’t have to look for them in any other foodstuffs.

On the other hand, many other types of vegan proteins, such as those derived from grains and nuts, do not contain every one of these amino acids.

It is completely cruelty-free as well as vegan.

Because peas are a type of vegetable, you’ve probably already figured that one of the primary advantages of pea protein powder is that it’s appropriate for vegetarians and vegans to consume.

Pea protein, on the other hand, does not contain any naturally occurring dairy or animal byproducts, hence there is no requirement to include these components in the manufacturing process.

This means that pea protein is fully derived from plants, does not include any form of animal testing, and is perfectly compatible with a diet that excludes lactose or is vegan.

It is an absolute no-brainer to follow a vegan diet or to just add more vegan alternatives to one’s diet. The benefits of doing so range from having a smaller carbon footprint to having a higher nutrient intake to, of course, having a cleaner conscience in regards to the treatment of animals.

Because of this, the protein derived from peas is once again at the pinnacle of the protein pedestal.

Gluten-Intolerant? Gluten is not present in pea protein powder due to its natural source.

Gluten avoidance in diet is becoming increasingly popular as more individuals gain access to more information and become more conscious of the effects that their environment has on their health and wellbeing. 

The autoimmune illness known as celiac disease causes the body to attack the lining of the intestines when it comes into contact with the proteins found in gluten.

People who are sensitive or intolerant to gluten for reasons other than celiac disease may experience symptoms that are similar to those of the disease but cause less damage; however, they should still avoid eating gluten. 

Because of this, one of the primary advantages of using pea protein powder is that it does not naturally contain gluten and may be consumed by virtually anyone.

Whey does not contain gluten on its own; however, it is frequently blended with wheat, rye, or barley in the production of protein drinks and bars; as a result, people who adhere to a gluten-free diet should avoid consuming these products.

The advantages of using pea protein powder can be broken down into a wide variety of categories. In addition to not being tested on animals and being vegan, pea protein is packed full of nutrients, vitamins, and minerals while also being completely free of allergens and being simple to digest. There aren’t any issues with that, is that right?!